Reloaded Win XP, now need to reload cygwin - sorta

DePriest, Jason R. jrdepriest@gmail.com
Mon Jun 25 03:17:00 GMT 2007


On 6/24/07, Vidiot  wrote:
> Larry Hall responded:
>
> >'setup.exe' will only remove files when uninstalling or upgrading.  It won't
> >remove configuration files that have been modified.  Also, if the "user
> >files" in question were not installed by Cygwin, they will not be touched.
>
> Thanks.
>
> >> Also, where was/is the crontab file placed when crontab -e is run?
> >
> >/var/cron/tabs
>
> D'Oh!
>
> >Keep in mind that if XP has been reinstalled, the ownership of the files
> >will not be correct.  Best to update the ownerships in Windows.
>
> Why would that be?  Windoze has ownership placed against files?  I've never
> seen a way to see said ownership info, like I can with Unix.  I'm the same
> Windoze user on both installs.
>
> MB

Is this Windows XP Professional or Home?  You may be using Simple File
Sharing (http://support.microsoft.com/kb/304040) which dumbs down the
security permission rules quite a bit.

Turn it off if you can and you will have a 'Security' tab on the
properties when you right-click on a file or folder.

The reason you need to update your permissions is because Windows ties
permissions to a unique SSID for each user.  When you reinstall, even
if you set up the same user names, the SSIDs associated with them are
different.

-Jason

-- 
NOTICE:  This email is being sent in clear-text across the public
Internet.  Therefore, any attempts to include unenforceable legalese
restrictions are ridiculous and pointless.  If you can read this,
consider yourself authorized (whether I like it or not).

--
Unsubscribe info:      http://cygwin.com/ml/#unsubscribe-simple
Problem reports:       http://cygwin.com/problems.html
Documentation:         http://cygwin.com/docs.html
FAQ:                   http://cygwin.com/faq/



More information about the Cygwin mailing list